Facts about SSPs & Public Health

  • SSPs have shown to reduce the transmission of viruses without increasing drug use by providing access to clean syringes.
  • Data supports that SSPs promote public health and safety by taking syringes off the streets.
  • SSPs help protect law enforcement personnel from needle stick injuries, which can result in the transmission of diseases such as HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C (amfAR Fact Sheet, 2011).

What are Syringe Services Programs?

Syringe Services Programs (SSPs) are an effective public health approach to reducing the spread of HIV/AIDS and other blood-borne diseases in communities across the U.S. Services include the provision of clean syringes, collects used syringes, Harm Reduction Education, HIV and Hepatitis C testing/screening, Overdose Prevention (OD) Education, and referrals to drug treatment, STD screening, and other ancillary services. There are currently 194 syringe services programs in 33 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the Indian Nations (NASEN, 2014).

The list below contains information on CT SSPs. As programs continue to expand across CT, this resource will be updated with the additional information.

SSP* Name Address Telephone Program Contact Program Email
AIDS Connecticut 110 Bartholomew Ave, Suite 3050
Hartford, CT 06106
860-247-2437 Julia Telfer/LaToya Tyson jtelfer@aids-ct.org
APEX 85 West St Danbury, CT 06810 203-778-2437 Paisley Reardan preardan@apexcc.org
Family Centers (Stamford CARES) 888 Washington Blvd 8th Floor Stamford, CT 06901 203-977-5296 Lauren Gau lgau@stamfordct.gov
GBAPP Harm Reduction Program
Recovery Network of Programs
1470 Barnum Ave, Suite 301
Bridgeport, CT 06610
203-366-8255 Nancy Kingwood nkingwood@gbapp.org
Greater Hartford
Harm Reduction Coalition
1229 Albany Ave
Hartford, CT 06112
860-250-4146 Mark Jenkins markj@ghhrc.org
Liberty Community Services, Inc. 210 State St, Storefront
New Haven, CT 06510
203-497-2323 Silvia Moscariello silvia.moscariello@libertycs.org
Mid-Fairfield AIDS Project 618 West Ave Norwalk, CT 06850 203-855-9535 x107 Erma Benedetto ebenedetto@mfap.com
Perception Programs 54 North St, PO Box 407
Willimantic, CT 06226
860-450-7248 Kristie Scott kristie.scott@perceptionprograms.org
Yale University Community Health Care Van (CHCV) 135 College Street, Suite 323
New Haven, CT 06510
203-737-4047 Sharon Joslin sharon.joslin@yale.edu
*Syringe Services Programs (SSP) are community-based programs that provide access to sterile needles and syringes free of cost and facilitate safe disposal of used needles and syringes. (Source https://www.cdc.gov/hiv/risk/ssps.html)

Persons who inject drugs (PWIDs) make up 8% of new HIV infections in the United States (CDC Fact Sheet), over 60% of new hepatitis C (HCV) infections (CDC HCV Website), and emerging HCV epidemic in young people (Hepatitis C Virus Infection in Young Persons Who Inject Drugs Report, 2013). Syringe services programs (SSPs) serve as a safe, effective HIV prevention method for people who inject drugs (PWID) to exchange used syringes for sterile needles, thereby significantly lowering the risk of HIV transmission. Since the 1980s, SSPs in conjunction with other HIV prevention strategies have resulted in reductions of up to 80% in HIV incidence among PWID.

For further information about High Impact Prevention strategies, such as SSPs, please contact Marianne Buchelli, Health Program Services Supervisor at 860-509-8053 or email at Marianne.buchelli@ct.gov.

More information: CDC Vital Signs - December 2016